Santorum: “I don’t care what the unemployment rate is going to be”

If anything, republican presidential candidate Rick Santorum is honest, honest to a fault.

“I don’t care what the unemployment rate is going to be. It doesn’t matter to me. My campaign doesn’t hinge on unemployment rates and growth rates,” Santorum said during a campaign appearance in Illinois.

Santorum used his economic comments to attack fellow candidate Mitt Romney as not being a true conservative.

“We have one nominee who says he wants to run the economy. What kind of conservative says the president runs the economy? What kind of conservative says, ‘I’m the guy because of my economic experience that can create jobs? I don’t know. We conservatives generally think government doesn’t create jobs,” Santorum said.

Romney, a former private equity executive, has made his business experience the centerpiece of his presidential campaign, contending that it makes him the best candidate to steer the economy. His campaign leaped on Santorum’s remarks, saying that Santorum is an ‘economic lightweight.”

Santorum walked back from his comments later in remarks to reporters. “As far as my political campaign … of course I care about the unemployment rate. I want the unemployment rate to go down, but I’m saying my candidacy doesn’t hinge on whether the unemployment rate goes up and down. My candidacy is about something that transcends that; it’s about freedom. It’s not about Governor Romney’s idea that he is going to fix the economy,” he said.

The unemployment rate is currently 8.3 percent.

But really, who cares?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

